Developments

Tuesday was my next follie scan, and something really funny happened. I went in, took off my skirt and shoes, donned the blue gown and hopped onto the bed. The doc came in and helped me with the little blanky, and then set about preparing the scan. As I lay there, I got this overwhelming feeling that something was wrong. Something didn’t feel right. And then it struck me, and I burst into a fit of giggles! The doc looked at me like I was nuts, and I blurted “I am soooo sorry, but I have forgotten to take off my underwear!” Well he ushered the nurse out as he quickly left the room, and after about 5 minutes he returned looking decidedly embarrassed. I was still laughing, and I apologised again, saying that I knew something was wrong, but couldn’t quite figure out what! That’s when he saw the funny side and started laughing too. He said that I have a lot on my mind, so it would only be natural to forget something like that. I could just imagine him going in for the scan and coming face to face with my frilly knickers!

So besides the comedy, my follies looked LARGE, and trigger was set for 9:00pm. I went to one of the nurses for further instruction, and it was my airy fairy nurse again. She explained the retrieval to me, and showed me a chart with the different stages of fertilization. There was one pic with an egg, and on the side of it a little spot of DNA (the DNA would be mine). In the next pic – after fertilization – there were two spots of DNA side by side. That would be mine and the Hoff’s. Well this had a very profound effect on me and for the first time in my life, I understood the title of Tertia’s book: So Close. We were closer than we’ve ever been to creating a little piece of him and I. I was overwhelmed, and cried all the way back to work.

Trigger went smoothly, and this morning I went for retrieval. I won’t lie, I have been worried about this step. I was really preparing myself for a not-so-great number, and when I awoke and checked my hand, this is what I saw:

10 eggs retrieved in total! I am so pleased, and feel a little more confident now. All we need to do now is hope for a good fert report. And the Hoff had a good pep-talk with “the boys” before he handed them to the lab, so they should be on their best behaviour. He asked me if I thought “my girls” and “his boys” had ever met before, and I said that in the past they had to find their own way, but today they got dropped off right at the party. With that said, let the partying begin!
19 thoughts on “Developments

  1. Jackie says:

    Good luck, Mands! Here’s to a great fertilization report (raising an imaginary glass of champagne for a toast-clink*clink)!

  2. JJ says:

    YAY! Great news Mands–thats a great number, and thanks for sharing the picture of your hand–that made me smile for you!

  3. Samantha says:

    I hope you get a great fert report! 10 eggs is a good number!

  4. Bumble says:

    Thats wonderful news Mands, congrats on the 10 little eggs! Now I’m crossing everything for a fantastic fert report. Well Done, almost there now!

  5. Bea says:

    Fantastic number – not too big, not too small. Just about ideal, in fact. Hopefully that means you’ll get some really nice quality embryos.

    Bea

  6. ultimatejourney says:

    Love the undie story — I’m glad the doc finally saw the humor πŸ™‚

    Congrats on a great number! Can’t wait to hear the fert report.

  7. Stephanie says:

    Wow, ten eggs is great! Congrats on your wonderful performing ovaries! I love that they wrote you results on your hand. Great idea! I alway forgot what they told me so they had to repeat it everytime they came to check on me.

  8. Artblog says:

    Hey, thats a greatttt number, crossing my fingers for the next part πŸ™‚ X

  9. Sarah says:

    congratulations!! wonderful news! i love the party idea, and can’t wait to hear what happened at that party!!

  10. Tam says:

    So glad that your retrieval went well and am also happy to hear that your eggs fertilised so well!!

    Can’t wait for the next report, go embies go!!! Big hugs for you, well done my friend!

    Chat soon, Tam xxx

  11. Chris says:

    Hey that is great news! 10 is a wonderful number. I am so happy for you! Can’t wait to hear how things progress from here. Good luck!

  12. Leigh says:

    Let the party begin!!! Send my love to the Hoff too.

  13. Jason and Samantha says:

    GOOD LUCK!!!

  14. The Road Less Travelled says:

    That’s fantastic Mands, good luck.

  15. TeamWinks says:

    Love it! Writing on the hand means no waiting to find out how many you had. Perfect!

  16. Tam says:

    Good Luck for your transfer today little lady. Can’t wait to hear from you!! Hope all those little embies thrived overnight!

    Lots of love and hugs xxx

  17. Sticky Bun says:

    Hooray for 10 eggs-that was my number, too. πŸ™‚

    I hope the fert report was fabulous and am wishing you the very best, Mands!

  18. Maritza says:

    Just read the undies story…LOL! I have actually imagined this happening…to hear this happening to someone in real life…priceless!

  19. KarenO says:

    Whoever wrote that message on your hand was way beyond cute! And the Hoff is coming a close second with his joke about your girls and his boys going to a party. Crossing my fingers over here Mands… good luck!

Leave a Reply

