IVF – I’m Very Flustered – or – In Vitro Fert

That. was. a. weekend. from. hell. I fled my lapscope-follow-up appointment to get to a work meeting (that I was already 2 hours late for), and that was the start of it. I worked solidly the whole weekend, and into Monday, and today. After dropping off our two out of town associates, I went straight home, but by that time it was the end of the day anyway. So why the post-mortem, you might ask. Well, that is my long, sad, but oh so true excuse for NOT updating you on my Thursday appointment.

So here goes… As it turns out, my right ovary is looking pretty good (really, I saw photo’s). The left, not so much. I was staring at a picture that looked like a very unremarkable piece of pelvic wall, when I was told that I was, in fact, viewing what was left of my other ovary. It was quite pathetic, really. It has all but been absorbed by my own body, and, well, I can’t even say that it didn’t look good, because, it didn’t look like much of anything. My doc basically said that my best bet was IVF with immediate effect. I had already started taking the pill in anticipation of this, as well as YUMMY LOVELY SIDE EFFECT FREE (ha!) Parlodel.

My protocol is as follows:

BCP ’til CD21

Parlodel forever, increasing dosage slowly. (or until the end of the whole process)

CD18 – Lucrin up until trigger

AF – Scan & Bloods

Start Menopur (3 amps to start) CD2 0r 3 until follies are good to go

CD 6,8, onwards – bloods and scan

CD10, 11 – E2 P4 Bloods

Pregnyl Trigger

Post Trigger E2 P4 Bloods

36 – 38 hours later – Retrieval and Fertilization

Cyclogest

3 or 5 day Transfer (depending on progress of embies, hoping for 8-12 retrieved – with only one decent ovary, is that expecting too much?)

Estrapause and Cyclogest until Beta 14dpt

Is that too much information? I know this would bore a lot of you, but I thought it may interest those who are new to IVF (like moi) and those who are contemplating it.

I must admit that I felt quite emotional when I was going through the protocol with the co-ordinator. It was surprisingly overwhelming. I have waited so long for this opportunity, and I feel that this is my best shot. I am so incredibly excited at the possibility of success, and too afraid to think of failure at this point, although I am well aware of the reality of these things. If I allow myself to dwell on the “bad” statistics, I may end up on the edge of insanity again like after my 3 IUI’s. I have tried to think as if it has already worked, and hopefully this kind of thinking will hold me in good stead over the next few weeks.

Just a quick question: has anyone else taken Parlodel or any other Prolactin lowering drug? I am getting some unpleasant side effects. Also headaches, could this be the BCP’s? Every night when I take those I smile a little ironic smile to myself. Then I slug back my Parlodel with a glass of milk, and drift into a worried, excited, hopeful sleep. Nighty night all.

11 thoughts on “IVF – I’m Very Flustered – or – In Vitro Fert

  1. seussgirl says:

    Hi –
    Random combo of comments here: is your pic from “Guess how much I love you”? I just bought that book for SIL’s shower this month.
    As for the headaches and BCPs, I know that I had to be on a very low-estrogen pill because I’m incredibly prone to headaches. So, depending on what you’re on, I’d say, yes – your headaches could be from the pills.

  2. Chris says:

    IVF . . . isn’t it grand? I start my meds tonight for my first (and only) attempt. I’m looking forward to following your progress.

  3. The Road Less Travelled says:

    Good luck with your IVF, I’ll be rooting for you.

  4. Stephanie says:

    congrats on getting your protocal for your 1st and hopefully only IVF!! I totally understand you mix of emotions. I will be following and cheering you along this process. Remember you are not alone!

  5. Bea says:

    I think your breakdown of the IVF acronym is very apt. And wow. About your ovary. Luckily you still have a great one left! It’s all getting pretty real now!

    Bea

  6. Tam says:

    Okay, so now that I know more about what’s happening, I feel better!! You’re gonna be okay sweetie, it goes so quickly but is terribly over-whelming. Did they say that your left ovary had no chance of making any eggs?

    Hopefully you do get a nice amount on your right one, I only got 8 on each with that dosage but maybe you’ll respond better or they can change the dosage half way through.

    Not long till you start your lucrin, what day you on now? I think the headaches are from the pill, I also never felt good on BCP and I hated the lucrin even more!! It made me soooo emotional!

    Just a heads up, there are a LOT of blood tests. Will get together soon sweetie xxx

  7. Chanti says:

    Hi Mands,
    You are way more clued up on all this than I am. I don’t have all the lingo down 😉
    I got headaches from the pill aswell and they seemed to come instantly.
    I have been on the Lucrin shots since last thursday and am doing okay. No major side effects to report other than being a tiny bit tearful. But I can deal with that. Hope you don’t have any side effects either. Waiting for AF (today/tomorrow) so we can start with menopur.
    Holding thumbs that we will both have healthy babies by this time next year.

  8. Samantha says:

    That’s quite a protocol they’ve got you on! I’ve never taken parlodel, but I’ve had mood swings and gotten headaches from various hormone drugs, particuarly as my body adjusts to them. Maybe some of these side effects will disappear after you’ve taken the drugs a little longer.

    I’m sorry to hear about your left ovary, I hope your right will provide all of the eggs you need!

  9. Leigh says:

    Hey Mands
    Holding thumbs as always.
    Leigh

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Wow, that does sound overwhelming when you see it all at once. What a very sweet picture! It melts my heart.

  11. Artblog says:

    I’ve taken Parlodel many times, each time they make me sick and faint if I take them whole. TO help, I took one pill in quarters, not easy to do as their really small pills but I managed and I stopped having dizzy spells and heart palpitations!

    Lots and lots of luck for the upcoming cycle 🙂

Leave a Reply

