New Beginnings

Thank you for making me smile with your comments on my last post. 🙂

After a quiet weekend, lazing in bed, I am good to go. Still walking like a geriatric, but other than that I am “strong like bull”! In body and mind. As I lay in bed, navigating through the many movies I had recorded for later viewing pleasure, something struck me.

At the beginning of this year I threw myself into the fertility treatment full force. I had made a decision that I would be pregnant this year if it just about killed me. At this point, everything else came to a grinding halt. Why not, I told myself, this had to work, I would be pregnant soon, and then I would carry on with everything else…
Fast forward eight months: Picture me, lying in bed, my insides stitched closed, moving around is a chore, breathing is laboured, and I feel like I have been hit by a truck. I have not been eating properly or exercising; I look thirty something and feel ninety-something.

And that’s when it struck me. I have been taking my health for granted. I have been filling my body with all sorts of destructive niceties (cake, fudge, chocolate, sweets, copious amounts of fast food) and have done ZERO exercise since January. My body, in the meantime – which should be my temple – had turned into a giant pile of mush. For the first time in my life I had to go out and buy a size bigger because my clothes no longer fit me. I have never owned “fat” clothes… until now… I feverishly started to make all sorts of “post op resolutions”. When I’m well again, I’ll start cycling and walking and eating healthily and drinking more water….

You see, on any normal day, (when I haven’t had surgery of any kind) I am a pretty mobile person. I can run, jump, skip, dance and work. I can breathe easily, sing out loud and drive myself anywhere anytime. I don’t want to take advantage of these luxuries. I want to preserve my health into my pregnancy and beyond it, well into my twilight years. I want to run and play with my child(ren) and hopefully one day grandchildren. That is entirely up to me and depends on how look after myself now.

So with that said – who has some good salad ideas?

4 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. Elizabeth says:

    “if it killed me”! Oh no! I think it’s awesome that you are looking at ways to enhance your health with simple things, I think you’ll find it rewarding. My favorite salad is baby spinach, tomatoes, mozarella, and basil, drizzled with olive oil and a little balsamic vinegar.

    Actually while traveling in RSA I discovered smoked salmon salads and that’s what I always ordered when we ate out, from Cape Town, to Durban, to Jo’burg, to Pretoria. I’ve never had as good a smoked salmon salad as the many variations I sampled in South Africa.

  2. Bea says:

    Ooh, smoked salmon salads. I like any kind of semi-cooked salad, such as with bacon and potatoes, or the classic caesar. Little dash of olive oil as dressing, and plenty of herbs mixed in.

    Bea

  3. Leigh says:

    I keep making promises to myself about eating right and exercising and then a peanutbutter kit- kat comes my way…

  4. mom says:

    You are soooooo funny. Ilove your explanation of being unhealthy and unfit. Please share your salad recipes with me as well.

Leave a Reply

