Some Post-Op Drivel

Do you ever have one of those days when you just can’t think of anything meaningful to say? I am having one of those days.

I managed to get my sorry butt to the clinic this morning to have my stitches out. (I was like driving miss daisy, doing 40kph all the way there!) I am feeling much better now, still quite sore but not like my skin has been stretched and then sewn into place. (Well, it was.) I am still feeling sorry for myself, though, and the nurse who removed the stitches certainly didn’t help by saying that birth was much more painful than a couple of cuts and that I should be happy that I am not still bleeding and swollen. Nothing like a bit of empathy to make you feel better. The other staff there were very sweet though, and all of the comments on yesterdays post really helped as well. And I really am feeling better. Really.

Spare a thought for my sister who has a one month old baby, and had a gall stone op yesterday. Oh, and she has a touch of bronchitis. I DARE NOT cough after this op, so I am really feeling her pain right now.

The “cable guy” arrived yesterday to install our PVR, what a godsend… what did we do before this kind of TV? I got to watch ER, Desperate Housewives and Men in Trees. It definitely helped numb the pain 🙂

Geez I am really rusty at this blogging thing. You know what they say, “use it or lose it!” I will do my best to get my head right and get working on some quality posts – not this drivel.

9 thoughts on “Some Post-Op Drivel

  1. Sara says:

    Sorry you’re still sore, and that the nurse was such a cow about it. Yes, it could be worse, but that doesn’t mean that it doesn’t hurt!

    Hope you feel better soon.

  2. Fertilize Me says:

    I hope you start feeling physically and emotionally better very soon – and those TV things are the Greatest!!

  3. Samantha says:

    Great attitude of that nurse. I’d be tempted to tell her, “Yes, and I’m sure if I bashed in your knee with a baseball bat right that would also be more painful, but that’s not really the point, now is it?”–then I might just smile sweetly.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Feel better soon!

  5. The Road Less Travelled says:

    You did say something meaningful and it made me feel fantastic!!! THANKS ((HUGS))!

  6. Bea says:

    I’m glad for the TV – hope the pain gets nice and numbed and over with fast. Wishing you well into your next cycle.

    Bea

  7. Kristen says:

    Bedside manner leaves much to be desired, huh?

    I hope the pain goes away soon and I’m wishing a quick recovery.

    Oh, and I will be thinking of your sis. Poor thing – yikes!

  8. Mands says:

    Don’t make me laugh Sam! You guys are the best!
    cliche cliche blah blah blah – but it’s true. You really are!

  9. Tam says:

    I am glad that the stitches are out now, you’ll start to feel better soon. Just think, not long until the IVF!!

    Thinking about you all the time my friend, hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

