Eight Things About Me

Well it looks like I am well and truly back in the loop here. Thanks again for not forsaking me 🙂

So moving right along, here are 8 arbitrary things about me, as I have been tagged by one of my favourite writers, Sticky Bun:

1. When I eat chocolate, I suck it so that it lasts longer. This used to drive my sister crazy when we were kids, because she always ate hers like a normal person, leaving me to savour mine long after hers was gone! The truth of the matter is that I can’t really eat a lot of chocolate (it makes me sick) but it was fun upsetting her like that!

2. I was named after the song “Mandy” by Barry Manilow. My grandfather was driving my mom to the hospital on the night of my birth, and that song was playing on the “Hit Parade”. He asked my mom to name the baby Mandy if it was a girl.

3. I am terrified of falling. This fear came to me when I was about 12 or so. We were at a soccer match down the coast, and I was exploring the surrounding area. There was a little wooden swing bridge, which I started to cross, but was gripped by the most terrible fear, sat down on the bridge, and froze. I have been afraid of heights and falling ever since.

4. My eyes were operated on when I was three – I had a really bad squint. Then about three years ago I had Lasik to correct my near-sightedness. Now it looks like my squint might be coming back! When I am tired or have been reading too much, my right eye pulls skew!

5. I dance like a crazy woman when I’m home alone. I’ll put on M.TV or my I.pod really loud, and then dance like a maniac, scaring the dogs and probably the neighbours. I convince myself that I am a really good dancer, which is so far from the truth (The dancing is usually accompanied by some really loud, really bad singing.) Even at the ripe old age of 30, I like to let it all hang out, so to speak.

6. The first boy I ever loved was Jason Cummings. He was a blond haired, blue eyed angel, two years older than me when I was 10. I sent him a love note with some Smarties (candy coated chocolate drops) in an envelope. He read the note, crumpled it up, and ate the Smarties. He crumpled up my tender little 10 year old heart as well. Apparently, it’s not cool for 12 year olds to date 10 year olds. *sigh* The second boy was Trevor Halstead, who went on to become a pretty well known rugby player.

7. My best friend Amanda was killed when hit by a car when I was 16. She had been out all night, and crossed the highway to get home quicker, but it was a blind corner, and she didn’t see it coming. She died of internal injuries. It was the saddest day of my short life. I still think about her, and feel very sad that she is not here experiencing all the wonders of life.

8. When I was little I stayed with my grandparents. I called my grandfather Baloo, and he called me Mowgli. (He was big and cuddly, and I was a skinny little thing!) I would run around the place scratching under my arms and screeching “ooh ooh ooh” Like a monkey! Uh huh. Strange, I know.

I tag these eight people:
Tam – Peanuts Journey
Bumble – Me, The Bumble Bee
Debs – Venusuvian Debs
Bea – Infertile Fantasies
Nicole – Just Crazy Enough to Try
Debbie – Infertility Blog
Dawn – NearlyDawn
The Oneliner – The Oneliner

This tagging business is hard to keep track of – so if you’ve been repeat tagged by me, apologies in advance! If you have not yet responded to your tag – well then you’re it! Again!

15 thoughts on “Eight Things About Me

  1. Baby Blues says:

    Interesting 8. Thanks for sharing. I’m still struggling to come up with my post.

    I’ve had my heart broken several times and had my share of breaking some hearts. What goes around comes around.

  2. Matthew M. F. Miller says:

    Wow – you really let us in. This is not easy to do, and I thank you for your honesty.

    And Jason Cummings was an utter fool, if you ask me.

  3. Reproductive Jeans says:

    Very cool 8! But some definite sadness in there…I am so sorry about your friend-your fear of hieghts-and the eye surgery! Yikes!
    Thanks for sharing my dear Mandy–I love that song=)

  4. Hopeful Mother says:

    I love the song Mandy! It must be cool to have a song with your name!

  5. Sarah says:

    i LOVE the jungle book to this day!

  6. Samantha says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend. That is so tragic. Thanks for sharing such funny and sad details of your life!

  7. ultimatejourney says:

    Thanks for sharing all those things about yourself. I’m afraid of heights too, although there was no event that brought it on.

    I’m really sorry about your best friend.

  8. Bumble says:

    A few of your random things made me wanna cry!

    So sorry about the loss of your best friend, that must have been so hard for you.

    You and your grampie sound so cute together!

    Silly boys, I bet Jason’s kicking himself now.

  9. Nicole says:

    Aw man, it’s so hard to lose a friend to death. I’m so sorry.

    And, in the event that I forget about the tag, please remind me, OK?

  10. lady macleod says:

    #8 and #5 are my favorites. Nice list. I came over from “Upon Awakening”.

    Nice blog.

  11. Nearlydawn says:

    Thanks for the tag, I’ll get right on it! I think you and I might have been separated at birth, btw. You belong in my family, cause the singing and wild dancing happens at my house too! My Mom and I still “get down” when my Dad isn’t home to tell us how silly we are being. You know, I actually thought EVERYONE danced and sang at home, with their mom or alone if necessary. Boy, did I lead a fun yet sheltered life!

  12. Sticky Bun says:

    Thank you so much for sharing these–both the happy and funny and the hard. And I’m so sorry about your friend. While it was a long time ago, I’m sure it is still hard at times.

    And, I also dance around the house like a fool when nobody is home. “American Girl” is one of my favorites to blast and go crazy to. 🙂

  13. Debbie says:

    These are great, ok I’m trying to get back in the saddle of blog world again too.

    Oh no, so I’m tagged. haha It might take me a while but I’ll do it.

    (Hugs)

  14. butterflyanla says:

    Glad to learn a little more about you. I feel like the Braces Bunch is sort of my new group of friends, you know kinda like the girl friends you had when you were six and every one shared the same special things.Good Luck with the new house! We bought our first house last summer and it has been interesting.

  15. Leah says:

    We miss you! C’mon back to the blogsphere and tell us what’s new with you.

    I’m sending out another batch of Braces Bunch mail tomorrow, so you should get it in a little while.

    Hope all is well with you.

Leave a Reply

