Tiny Little Boxes

Yay! It’s the weekend again. I have been wasting (you read right, I said “wasting”, not “waiting”!) all week in anticipation of the weekend. I’ll do some real work next week – but first – a weekend. Do you compartmentalise your life like that too?

For Example…

Only 2 more days to the weekend
or
Only 5 more days to beta
or
Only half an hour ’til trigger
or
Only 1.5 more months to IVF?

Everything else in between starts to become insignificant detail, as we patiently while away the time until the next “big thing”.

The nice thing about a break is that it’s not that chronic. My life has been compartmentalised into the following categories:

1. Break until end of May (in which time: phone Tertia as I have been threatening to, meet up with Tam again, start gym again, do something terribly arty in my spare time)

2. IVF at the end of May (Organise appointments, money, get the Hoff back on his vitamins *heaven help us*)

3. Buy a House by August (heaven help us some more – need to settle credit cards in order to be able to afford exorbitant house prices)

So being on a break is great, as the little boxes that I have prepacked my life into aren’t that many. The problem is that I had become so all consumed by the process that now I am struggling to break the habit. I know I need to go back to gym, but I am thinking I’ll just wait for this or that to happen, and then I’ll go. What rubbish. I told Debs the other day that I feel like I’m procrastinating about procrastinating! I am in a little bit of a rut and I seriously need to get out. Starting tomorrow.

Oh, and speaking of procrastinating, here is a pic of those slippers:

Yes I wear these every night after bath (or shower) with my jammies, and if you are lucky you may just get a pic of the whole ensemble! (These adorable slippers were a gift from Debs) That gal has great taste in shoes, is all I can say!

14 thoughts on “Tiny Little Boxes

  1. Venusuvian Debs says:

    Forgot how cute those were! 🙂 A pressie well deserved BFF Amen.

  2. Samantha says:

    I love the slippers! Wearing those would help put me in a good mood. I’m spending a lot of time wasting too this week.

  3. Nicole says:

    Oh my goodness, those are darn cute slippers! I too compartmentalize my life. I have 7 days until my next OB appointment, post D&C.

  4. Sarah says:

    it never ends. i now find myself totally unable to accomplish anything because i’m wasting and waiting for a) impending doom, b) the next appointment, or c) the overwhelming myriad of changes headed my way IF things continue to go well. you’re so right, i should probably just go to the gym or start something arty. good luck with yours.

  5. Aunt Sassy says:

    Finally! I have been waiting for this picture. Tres chic (nice taste, debs). I must find me a pair.

    Yes, there is always something to compartmentalize. o/w i think IF would be too overwhelming. I hope you enjoy your wkend!

  6. ultimatejourney says:

    Those slippers are adorable! They made my sad day slightly brighter, so I thank you for that.

    And yes, I definitely compartmentalize my life. Before IF, I compartmentalized by weekend/vacation, but nowadays life seems to revolve around doctor’s appointments. I need to schedule something fun to look forward to.

    Have a good weekend.

  7. Bea says:

    It’s tough to shift gears.

    (Good luck with the vitamins, by the way.)

    Thanks for the shout-out the other day.

    And happy house-hunting! Wouldn’t it be great to know the ART is over with for now by the time you start looking.

    Bea

  8. Baby Blues says:

    They’re so cute! I’m getting myself a pair. I agree, I like Deb’s taste.

    Enjoy your weekend!

  9. Jason and Samantha says:

    Those are some of the cutest slippers!! I love Giraffes!! 🙂

    I understand the whole procrastination thing. But enjoy your moments 🙂 They are so rare for people these days!

  10. Mary Ellen and Steve says:

    Those slippers are absolutely adorable. I hope that you have a wonderful weekend!

  11. Bumble says:

    I love the geee-raffes. They look so soft and snuggly!
    Only 5 more days till the next weekend, bleaugh. Hope yours was great.

  12. Sticky Bun says:

    omg, you are so right about compartmentalizing your life. I do it ALL the time! I so wish I could be one of those go with the flow zen women…

    Also, LOVE those giraffe slippers. cutest ever. 🙂

  13. Reproductive Jeans says:

    LOVE the slippers! And I can totally relate to tiny boxes–I am so organized (too much sometimes) that I have to plan out life to the minute! It’s going to be a hard journey up to getting on board with IVF..but Im right there with ya!

  14. The Town Criers says:

    The slippers are fantastic. You need to wear them to the bar next month 🙂

    Here is the red champagne. Was the offer accepted on the house?

    Enjoy the break. I hope you’re able to hold onto the calm and relaxation when you start up again. Oooh, if only they could bottle that. Sending you much luck for the end of May.

Leave a Reply

