A REAL Break.

Where do I start? Ummm, lets see.

So, I’ve been on a break. No, really, I have. I tried the OPK’s, and none of them were conclusive. I got varying degrees of blue lines, none of which seemed viable. So, after much ado, and another chat with the Hoff (many tears, and gnashing of teeth), I decided to have a real break. Bugger the OPK’s, bugger the timing, bugger all the vitamins and minerals. Who cares. I’m doing IVF in two months, so I’ll let my hair down a bit. So far, it’s worked out quite well.

Over the long weekend I went with Debs and her DH to a concert in the botanical gardens. I tried to break out of the IF mould and had…. wait for it… a cup of REAL coffee! Ciro Filter, no less! But wait! It gets better! Then I tried… are you sitting down??? …a half a glass of wine! (Skandaal!) Instant headache.
What has this experience taught me?
1)I can’t hold my liquor anymore. Big deal.
2)I can’t drink a REAL cup of coffee without breaking into a sweat and wanting to climb the walls. So what.
3) I really needed a break, for my own sanity. And for the Hoff’s sanity too.

Besides that, the Hothouse Flowers played. Debs and I stood right next to the stage and acted like teenagers. After that we bought t-shirts and got them signed by ALL the band members, which was really cool. The weird thing is that not many people seem to know who the Hothouse Flowers are. I mean, they are legends in their own right. They made such classics as “Movies”, “So Sorry”, and “I Can See Clearly Now”. For a musical education, please visit this website. I grew up with this music, and if I ever made a movie about my life, they would definitely be on the soundtrack.

Also, my bestest bud in the whole wide world has just started her very first IVF cycle, she is on day 2 of Lucrin. I got the pleasure just now to watch her shoot up. She acted all blah about it, but I know that she secretly enjoyed it. (heeheehee!) She has her big blue bag full of needles and vials and so on. It is quite nice to get a sneak preview into the whole thing.
Please pop over to her blog and give her some support. She is a secondary infertile, so there are a whole other bag of issues she is dealing with, and could use some encouragement.

Tam, my newest bud, is entering her 2ww after IUI #3 – she could use some company to keep her busy, and the sweet, funny, lovely Bumble has just had one little embie transferred, and needs lots of encouragement.
On a sadder note, Bea from Infertile Fantasies has suffered a loss. Please go over there and give her some kind words and support.

I am still trying to get the photo of my fluffy giraffe slippers off my phone, so stay tuned…

15 thoughts on “A REAL Break.

  1. Baby Blues says:

    Glad you’re enjoying your break! You deserve it. But you have to admit, it feels wierd not to be doing anything ART related. I get this panicky feeling sometimes. I agree with you, if it’s a break, you shouldn’t even be counting the days. We should just clear our minds.

    I’m still contemplating on whether to do IUI or go straight to IVF. I don’t know how many more BFNs I could take. We’ll be visiting Dr. N next week, before he goes on vacation, to discuss our options.

    I love the book by the way! Really moving, heartbreaking and inspiring. My parents are going to Singapore in May, will ask them to mail it to Bea from there.

    Thanks for being there for me Mands. Take care! Keep on posting.

  2. ultimatejourney says:

    Good for you for taking a well-deserved break. Maybe by the end of it you’ll be able to handle coffee and alcohol again 🙂 Then again, maybe it’s better not to get attached to those things only to cut them out again for IVF, I don’t know.

    I’m looking forward to the slipper photo.

  3. Samantha says:

    A REAL break – I hope you will find it more relaxing. I personally think peeing on OPKs is as much if not more stressful than going in for monitoring visits. OPKs are so dammed ambiguous!

    Will be waiting for the picture of giraffe slippers…

  4. Mary Ellen and Steve says:

    I hope that you enjoy your break. You deserve it!

  5. Adrienne says:

    Enjoy your break! Think of all the things you can do during the next 4 months – drink beverages laced with artificial sweetener (gasp!), drink a daily double-espresso (double-gasp!), and drink an ocassional glass of red wine (double-double gasp!)

    Can’t wait to see those giraffe slippers…

  6. Venusuvian Debs says:

    I have this very warm and fuzzy feeling at the moment. I thought maybe it’s a side effect of the lucrin. Ha ha, seriously it’s from the lovely post. Thank you my friend for the sentiment.

  7. Aunt Sassy says:

    Ooooo, a REAL break. Fab. Me, I have become a true fan of such “throw caution to the wind and not pee on a stick for a whole month” break.

    Kudos!

    Oh, and btw… OF COURSE i know who the Hothouse Flowers are!!!

  8. Nicole says:

    Such a lovely post. And, I am still patiently waiting for the great giraffe slipper photo. Enjoy your break, earn your alcohol tolerance back, and drink all things caffeinated. 🙂

  9. serenity says:

    It took me a while before I could enjoy being on a break… but once I got there… it was heaven. Imagine a world where you can have what you want when you want it without having to think about the consequences! Sex on demand! Coffee whenever! Wine every night!

    *sigh* Well, it wasn’t QUITE like that. But. I did feel like I regained a bit of my life back. The obsessing went away for a while. And when we were going to start cycling again… I didn’t really want to get back on the rollercoaster.

    I am glad you’re enjoying it thus far. 🙂

  10. Tam says:

    Been thinking about you lately, wondering how your break was going. I am glad that you have decided to take a real break, we really need it sometimes…for our sanity. It’s nice to get back the old us again – isn’t it.

    Thanks for the shout out, everyone has been wonderfull.

    We need to get together again soon, maybe next weekend or something…with Debs of -course.

    Take care sweetie 🙂

  11. Sticky Bun says:

    So glad you’re taking some time for a real break–it’s really great that you’re able to build in a little bit of time before IVF to just get away from the ttc stuff. I hope that you continue to have a great time, and feel really rejuvenated after it!

  12. Jason and Samantha says:

    Everyone deserves a break girlie!! Enjoy it!! 🙂 Glad to hear you are having a good time! 🙂

    Oh, and my hubby loved that someone else was into the 80’s like him! He got a big grin on his face.

  13. Reproductive Jeans says:

    Ill enjoy the break right along with you–need the time to build strength for the next step! Ill be checking on you–ENJOY your break and no more POAS for a while=)

  14. Susan says:

    Enjoy that break! And look forward to the next step.

  15. Bumble says:

    Yay Mands. Chuck out all things TTC related. Thermometers, POAS’s, OPK’s and stress! And keep perservering with the wine, you’ll get there hee hee. Tam is a bad influence… 😉 Thanks for the sweet wishes!!!!

Leave a Reply

