Whirlwind

Hello…? Does anyone still check this blog?

I have had a very busy week! It started with my CD5 with Dr H on Tuesday. Then Wednesday through to Friday was planning and shopping for SIL’s baby shower. Cape Town has been experiencing a heat wave as well, which made all the running around that much more tiring. The only time I nearly cracked up, was walking through the baby clothes aisle at one of the shops. I don’t know what came over me, but there I was, getting all mist eyed over a tiny clothes set.
The baby shower was on Saturday night, and I was so busy organising the whole thing – there was no time to get reflective and sad. I was also really happy that my SIL got so much stuff. They are newlywed, and need all the help they can get.

In between all of this I have been spending time with my 4 year old niece – she is adorable. She has the wildest imagination, and on Saturday night at the baby shower, she was dressed up like a fairy princess. She had on these bright pink, plastic, high heeled shoes, and her sequins and netting fairy dress, and kept exclaiming, “Aunty Mands, this party is beeeeaaauutiful! I can’t believe it! Look at all the pretty balloons!” (If I get permission from her mom, I’ll post a pic of her.) She is my godchild, and I love her like my own.

Sunday was the Argus, and my mom and I drove the men into town at dawn’s crack. The Hoff did a record time of 3 hours 12 minutes, and my dad did 4 hours 37 minutes – brilliant for a first attempt. We saw the Hoff off, and then walked to the start to see my dad off. It was a perfect day, slightly cloudy with no wind at all. I am very proud of both of them for exceeding their expected times.

I have also been trying to hook up with an old school friend Lea, who I know also reads this blog. So sorry Lea, it’s been hectic! Hope to see you before I leave though.

IF Update: I have taken all of the Gon.al F injections – I am pleased to announce that I did not morph into a slimy green monster! They are mild in comparison to Clom.id. I am going to see the doc much later on for CD12 and hopefully trigger injection. I have been getting lots of twisting sensations in my ovaries, and a “full” feeling – I am hoping for more than my usual measly one follicle turnout with paper thin lining. I’ll let you know later.

*A note to the Hoff. I know it’s always a whirlwind coming down to Cape Town. Planning the shower took up a lot of my time, and I have been very distracted with all the goings on. I am very sorry if I neglected to spend enough time with you down here. It’s never intentional, that I can promise. I realise you are out of your comfort zone here, and I appreciate your patience. I also appreciate your support this cycle. I was not happy to wait until we got back home to do the next one, and that has made this trip a little more whirlwind-ish as well. You supported my decision to do this cycle so soon, and I am very thankful for that. I know the guys get a hard time about the cycles not affecting them, but they have to put up with us every month, and I am sure that eventually it gets tiring for them too.

6 thoughts on “Whirlwind

  1. Baby Blues says:

    I still check your blog! 🙂 I noticed you’ve been busy. That’s good. Anything to make time fly.

    I also have a godchild and she’s 4 years old. Terribly adorable and witty! I was with her yesterday. I love her like my own.

    You and Hoff sound like an amazing couple. Both of you will just rock as parents!

    I’ll be taking injectibles too. I’m right behind you cyclesister!

  2. Reproductive Jeans says:

    *Waves* I’m here!

    Sounds like you have had a very relaxing time, and I agree with BabyBlues–you all sound like you have a great/solid relationship!

    We head towards our FIRST IUI at the end of the month–so keep up with us too-we are all in this together!

  3. Chanti says:

    Hey Mands,

    Yip check your blog often. Congrats to your dad and the Hoff. Spectacular achievement. Holding thumbs for your cycle this month. Hoping for very many little folicles happily growing. Nice healthy lining ect. Good to hear that your SIL babyshower went so well and that you only had that one little moment.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I so completely feel for you shopping for your SIL’s shower – that really takes love and courage. It hurts to be reminded of what you don’t have, the feelings of exclusion and denial. Hope you have a good week – I’m still reading !

  5. Sarah says:

    yeah, gonal-f was way easier for me to take than clomid too. the fullovaries sound very promising!

  6. Bumble says:

    I never tried Clomid but the Gonal F wasn’t bad at all. Heres hoping you have a *few* follies at your scan!

Leave a Reply

