Cape Town – IUI #3

First and foremost – a HUGE congratulations to Sara from Somewhat Lower for her BFP! Round of applause everyone! I have been following her cycle closely, and I am so so delighted for her.

On the IF front, we arrived in Cape Town yesterday for a week’s holiday (and to watch my dad and the Hoff do the Argus). This coincided with my CD5 scan. Luckily for me I have been to an IF doc in just about every town here, so I had a standby guy to do the scan. Dr H (yes, Tertia’s Dr. H!) checked for cysts – got the all clear. Already a couple of follies growing, so things are looking good. One big one, and a little cluster of secondaries on both ovaries. I got my first Gonal F injection – STABBED rather unceremoniously into my stomach. I have to have one every second day until day 9, and I rather proudly told the doc that the Hoff would be doing all my injections. He raised his one eyebrow (“Bold and the Beautiful” suspicious look) and said in his thick Belgian accent, “Vhy, iss khee a doktorr or sumzing?” I said no, but he knows how to do it. So the doc explained how to mix the various little vials together and we were on our merry way, R1760 later. (South African currency – Rands)

Spent the evening with the fam. Very pregnant but lovely SIL and brother popped in to say hi. Almost as pregnant sister popped in just before that. And guess what: I was fine. I feel fine. Happy. Positive. Like, my turn will come, and why waste time being sad when I can be happy in the meantime. I’m in a really good place. And I’m in Cape Town, which helps. Looking out of the window at the mountains, and the little squirrels scurrying around in the shade of the grand oak tree outside, one can’t help but feel good.

10 thoughts on “Cape Town – IUI #3

  1. Tam says:

    Hey Mands,

    Glad that you having a great time , it’s refreshing just to feel like you away from everything isn’t it? I have a good feeling about this next cycle and am really excited for you…injections hey…come on follies grow and make some nice eggs!! Enjoy the break, miss our daily chats…

  2. Baby Blues says:

    I’ll be on IUI#3 too Mands. And we’re also planning on taking injectibles. Just waiting for AF to start. I hoping the third time’s a charm for us both!

    Nice to hear you’re in a “good” place. I love it when I’m there. Just basking in the warmth of happiness and optimism. Take your time feeling good! 🙂

  3. Sara says:

    Thanks so much for your sweet comments on my blog and here too!

    Congratulations on the beginning of this new cycle. It feels so good to be moving forward, doesn’t it?

    Cape Town sounds divine. Enjoy every minute of it.

    Good luck on your cycle!

  4. Samantha says:

    I hope the vacation gives you some much needed rest and relaxation and the Gonal F gives your follies some stimulation. Brave for the Hoff and you! to do the injections for you. I’ve never allowed my DH to do the SQ injections, as I feel protective of my stomach!

  5. Sarah says:

    hurray for being in a happy place and hurray for little follies on the way!

  6. Reproductive Jeans says:

    Ahhh the refreshing feeling of a new cycle–it still brings me hope to envision a BFP at the end of the road!
    Love your positive attitude, and glad you were able to get away for a while!

  7. Bumble says:

    I’m so glad you’re feeling great, it always helps doesn’t it?
    What dosage of Gonal F are you on by the way? I started on 75iu for my first IUI and ended up on 112iu by the last. I hope this one’s the ticket, for you and Baby Blues and Tambo too!

  8. Bea says:

    Good to hear you sounding so upbeat.

    Bea

  9. Chanti says:

    HEY MANDS,
    WONDERFUL NEWS AND THAT IN THE MOTHER CITY ;-). PROFETIC DON’T YOU THINK. HOLDING THUMBS THAT THIS WILL BE THE ONE FOR YOU.

  10. Mands says:

    I’m on 150iu every second day Bumble. You make a good point, Chanti! Thanks for all the good vibes!

Leave a Reply

