Coming of Age

2 days to go and still… no symptoms. Not a sausage. Reading up on some of the recent BFP’s in Blogland, and they are puking up all over the place, and getting all sorts of other wonderful symptoms that they are going to be mothers in the not-too-distant future. They only thing I have gotten in my two week wait, is slightly fatter, and a bit more sceptical.

Anyhoo…

We drove down to Durban (about 5 hours away on the east coast) on Saturday morning. It was for my niece’s 21st on Saturday night. It was really lovely. They had it at a boating club, so we were right at the water’s edge, which was terribly romantic. It was baking hot (Durban has real tropical, thick, stifling weather), but the venue was done out beautifully by my SIL and her helpers. The weirdest thing was the DJ that did the music, happened to be the same guy who did my and the Hoff’s wedding reception 9 years ago! The music was the same as well! πŸ™‚ We choo choo’d to the Locomotion, girls wiggled to the Macarena, boys put a lot of effort into their Achy Breaky Hearts, we all put our hands up FOR DETROIT! and did a couple of other dodgy dance moves that probably looked ridiculous, but were wildly fun anyway!
It was really fun to catch up with long lost family members, and to see how everyone had grown up and got older. Children, that I last saw running around barefoot, were standing coyly in little groups; sipping on their drinks and making small talk. It was a wonderful celebration of my niece’s coming of age, and she has grown into a lovely girl: Very confident, self assured, comfortable in her own skin, and very outspoken, but with a definite soft side. There was a board that had photo’s stuck on it from all the stages of her life, and each photo brought back a flood of happy, funny memories. As I watched her parents standing proudly beside her, and as her dad handed her the 21st Key, I was really struck by the enormity of that moment. Her dad gave a very sincere and heartfelt speech, and reminded her, that even when she turned 42, she would still be his daughter, and he would still love her dearly.
Imagine seeing your children turn 21! What a milestone! What a wonderful journey they had embarked on when she entered into their lives. I bet they had no idea how their lives would change, or how much more enriched it would be because of her. Hopefully, in the future, she too will experience the joy of holding her own newborn in her arms for the first time, be there for each little milestone, each of life’s lessons, and finally to hand over that very special key at her own child’s 21st. And with a bit of luck, hopefully we’ll all get to experience that joy too some day. I can hardly wait.
On a slightly different topic, my precious miniature dachshund, Amber, got really sick yesterday and was rushed to the veterinary hospital by her *godmother*, who was worried to tears about her. She was puking up blood. They kept her overnight on a drip, and she was very traumatised by the whole ordeal, but she is okay now. She is currently at home getting lots of love from the Hoff. Poor baby! Many thanks to her godmother for getting her to the vet asap, as the vet said that if she had not been taken at that time, she would not have made it. The Hoff’s mom and dad have come to stay with us for a month or three, so she will get loved and spoilt enough for her to forget her brush with death. I really enjoy having them there as well, as it fills up the house a bit, and they are such easy going people.

These are some of Amber’s puppy pics. She’s two and a bit now, but still as cute as a button, and I would break if anything happened to her.
11 thoughts on “Coming of Age

  1. Venusuvian Debs says:

    Ahhh *sniff* so sweet!

  2. Stephanie says:

    super cute puppy! My mom had a dog like yours at one time. I remember thinking, “Man that dog can jump high for having such short legs!” Glad he is going to be okay. Amazing how our little fur kids can mean so much to us.

  3. Debbie says:

    Your puppy is sooo cute, I love her. My “baby” Charlie is about 2 1/2. I can’t imagine my world without him.

    Ok, 2 more days! We can do it. The only symptoms that I have are really sore breast, oh and they are huge right now, as well as a little fat belly but I think that’s from all the meds.

    Wishing you luck that you are prego and you are just one of thoughs people that have a painless pregnancy πŸ™‚
    ~Deb

  4. Bumble says:

    Aaw your little Amber is very sweet. I’m glad she’s okay now, its so sad when our furballs are in pain. Glad you had a good time in Durbs, and don’t worry that you aren’t showing symptoms, it could go either way okay, but I’m hoping its the positive way!

  5. Bea says:

    Happy birthday!

    Fingers still crossed…

    Get well soon puppy!

    Bea

  6. Susan says:

    Oh my god, that puppy! I so want one now. Absolutely freaking adorable.

  7. Baby Blues says:

    Amber is so adorably cute! I’m glad she’s feeling a lot better.

    Nice to hear you’re out having fun and keeping busy during the 2ww. It helps make time pass by faster.

    While I was in my 2ww on my last IUI, I was fretting over possible symptoms. I checked out Two Week Wait. It might help.

    Good luck Mands!

  8. Mands says:

    Thanks for the well wishes for my precious little Amber. She is full of beans again and back to her sparky little self!

  9. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Excellent suggestion – I was thinking of doing a little “my story so far” digest but this is a good prod πŸ™‚

    I LOVE Durban! My husband and I travelled through RSA for 8 months in 2003; simply fell in love with your beautiful country. We’re thinking of going back for World Cup in 2010 πŸ™‚

    Elizabeth

  10. Debbie says:

    So I took the test this morning and it’s a negative. BFN.

    I know it’s a day early but come on, do we really think tomorrow’s test will be anything different?

    Thanks so much for the help through the 2ww. It was nice to check your blog to see how you were doing.

    I hope you have better luck than I did.

    Hugs,
    Debbie

  11. Swylv says:

    Found you via an infertility google search…so what are these things you do to occupy yourself during this time? Oh and what a cute doggie! I want one now…we have 2 cats and a beta fish….Sassy was born 5/10/03 and our new kitten- Blue was born we think 11/1/06 – that may be off as apparently on farms/in the country people don’t take note of when the many kittens are born…but seeing as how she is in my apartment, I’d like to know when she may start that heat thing…oh and Eric is our male beta…we’ve had him since July 22, 06.

Leave a Reply

