Hello Afrika!

This being the first official day of my 2ww, I decided to talk about something other than IF. In fact, I have decided not to talk much at all. When I did the post on 5 Things I am Grateful For, one of the things I mentioned was the beautiful blue skies here. So I thought I’d give you a little taste of Africa… These pics have been taken at various game reserves and sanctuaries around the country. Enjoy!





Lions are nocturnal mostly. They lounge around in their royal splendour during the day, seeking shade from the relentless African sun under the thorn trees and in the long grass. They are most frisky at dusk, as they are getting ready for the hunt later at night. (A bit of National Geographic there in my best Sir David Attenborough voice…) Most of our bigger game parks have what is known as the Big 5: Lion, Rhino, Leopard, Elephant and Buffalo. Of these, leopard are the most difficult to spot as they are loners, and extremely shy creatures. Rhino and elephant are hard to miss, just because of their sheer size, although rhino are pretty shy as well. Buffalo are usually seen in vast herds, so they are relatively easy to see. Other interesting animals are giraffe, zebra, wild dog, hyena to name a few. We also have a variety of beautiful antelope, and bird life. Okay, now I am really sounding like a documentary! I’ll leave you alone to enjoy the pics.
———-
Oh, and Bea, you’ll be pleased to know I accomplished my first Good Deed last night. We bought dinner for our security guard on duty! Kentucky Fried Chicken – Two pieces, fries and a Coke! Yum! He totally deserved it though. He doesn’t fall asleep on duty and always greets us with a friendly wave and “thumbs up”. One down, forty nine to go…
11 thoughts on “Hello Afrika!

  1. Bea says:

    Hey hey! Sounds like a great deed. And some nice pics, too.

    Bea

  2. Mands says:

    I believe charity starts at home. I’ll move onto bigger things eventually πŸ™‚ like saving the planet and feeding the starving millions.. (don’t think he was starving, but one whiff of that chicken was bound to get him going!!)

  3. Baby Blues says:

    The lions are gorgeous! I will definitely visit Africa someday. Hopefully with my child in tow.

  4. Vee says:

    Fantastic pics !
    I would love to go to Africa.

    Good Luck with your 2ww.

  5. Reproductive Jeans says:

    Awesome idea about 50 good deeds! So nice of you! Good luck with the 2WW!

  6. Sarah says:

    beautiful pictures!

  7. Bumble says:

    You really know how to make a girl homesick huh?! Lately all I’ve been thinking about is sipping a lovely glass of wine on the verandah at Lower Sabie, overlooking the Sabie river and watching the golden pinks of an African sunset and listening to the wild night sounds of the bushveld. Aaaaahhhh.

  8. Mands says:

    Bumble, it’s so true, once you’ve experienced the bush, you’ll always pine for it.. There’s nothing like sitting by the riverside and listening to the bush waking up, or at night hearing the jackals, or the lions calling to each other. Or the bushbabies in the nearby trees. Fantastic!!

  9. carrie says:

    I loved the pictures of the lions, such huge beautiful cats. I myself would like to lie around in the grasses, basking in the sun (especially because it’s so cold and snowy here). I mean, really, all you’d have to worry about is food and water. None of the stressors we struggle with (are there infertile lions?)! And sleep, lots of glorious sleep. Thanks for the pictures and the mini-documentary πŸ™‚

  10. Buchiko says:

    Absolutely awesome pics! =)

  11. Mands says:

    Aw shucks! Thanks! Did I mention I would like to study photography? I love beautiful photographs!!!

Leave a Reply

