Giant Country, The Land of Dreams

Tootled off to the labs this morning with my “goods” safely tucked into my bra for IUI Round 2. I had forgotten to phone and book the semen wash yesterday, so I was dreaming up all sorts of ways to convince them to do it for me. “I’ll just cry. A lot. Loudly.” They were quite understanding though, so there was no need for any Oscar performances. Went for some breks, then back to the lab to fetch my little test tube. Safely tucked it back into the bra, and off to the clinic.
(Quick note: there is a lot of sense in getting IUI clothes. You really need something comfy for after. Only problem is that I am becoming poor very quickly, so I may have to make do.) đŸ˜¦

The receptionist smiled when I walked in, and we made small talk. I am quite the local down there these days.
“Hi Lizette, how are the kids?”.
“Fine thanks, got to leave now now to fetch them from school. I have paged Doctor, he should be up any minute now.”
“Fantastic, can I get a peek of the sperm results?”
“No problem. Cuppa tea?”
“Wonderful. Could I get copies of those results for DH to look at?”
“Absolutely, fetch them on your way out.”
“Thanks, you’re a gem!”
Just then, my BFG came loping in, (that’s how BFG’s walk, you know) dressed in blue theater “pyjamas”, with a sea green paper “gown” and a white mask hanging loosely around his neck, all smiles. As we chatted amicably, he reviewed my file. He always takes time to read the file thoroughly, then looks up, smiles, and says, “How are you feeling today?” No wonder he bagged a 29 year old.
The insemination went very smoothly. I must be getting used to my BFG , as I felt very calm and relaxed. Hitched up the legs, wriggled to get comfy and fluffed up the pillow. We made small talk whilst he was inserting the catheter, he was giving me a running commentary about what was going on “down there”, and that all uteri (is that the plural?) are different. Interesting observation.
Then I got the standard issue pat on the leg, another smile and, “Well done, that went very well. Just relax there and Lizette can bring you some tea, okay? Need a magazine or something? Alright, see you tomorrow then.”
He loped off, and with a swish of his sea green gown, he was gone.
I lay back with my iPod playing softly, sipping my herbal tea, feeling quite pleased with the way it had gone down. Staring at the sonogram pictures of a developing embryo on the wall , I could not help myself. I began to daydream all over again…

7 thoughts on “Giant Country, The Land of Dreams

  1. Baby Blues says:

    Sounds like the IUI went well. BFG is such a sweetie. Good luck on the 2ww. I’ll be waiting and hoping with you. My IUI hopefully pushes through on Friday.

    I’m looking forward to the book! I can’t wait to read it and pass it along too. Thanks Mands!

  2. Reproductive Jeans says:

    Sounds like it was avery smooth round! iPODS are a great thing in times of need=) Hope you have a great rest of the day! Relax (as much as possible) on the 2ww!

  3. Debbie says:

    Hi Mands,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I really hope we both have BFP this go round. Wouldn’t a baby conceived on Valentine’s Day be fantastic!

    Ok so the dreaded 2ww, we can do it.

    ~Deb

  4. Bumble says:

    Hi Mands, that sounds like a wonderful IUI. And on Valentine’s Day… wouldn’t that be lovely! Your BFG also sounds wonderful and I’m sure it gives you confidence in him, which always helps. I’m also starting a nice daydream for you!

  5. Bea says:

    Glad it went well… but of course I hope it goes *really* well. Best of luck waiting to find out.

    Bea

  6. Mands says:

    Thanks guys, best of luck to all my fellow 2ww’ers, and to everyone in a new cycle too! Yes, I do love my BFG, he is a real honey. And a Valentine baby would make a very happy ending wouldn’t it…? Man, I am a sucker for this hope stuff!!!

  7. Baby Blues says:

    Oh Mands, I just got benched! We decided to cancel. Follicles didn’t cooperate this time. But hey, I’ll still cheer for you and keep you company during your 2ww. I hope this is the one!

Leave a Reply

